Event Calender


Belgium is a member country of the EU since January 1, 1958 with its geographical size of 30,528 km², and population number 11,258,434, as per 2015. Belgians comprise 2.2% of the total EU population. Its capital is Brussels and the official languages in Belgium are Dutch, French, and German. The Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is €409,407 billion, as per 2015. Its currency is € (Euro), since Belgium became a member of the eurozone on January 1, 1999. The political system in Belgium is a federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy.

Belgium holds 21 seats in the European Parliament and held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU 12 times between 1958 and 2010. Belgium is also a member state of the Schengen Area since March 26, 1995.