Event Calender


Finland is a member country of the EU since January 1, 1995 with its geographical size of 338,440 km², and population number 5,471,753, as per 2015. The Finnish comprise 1.1% of the total EU population. Its capital is Helsinki and the official languages in Finland are Finnish and Swedish. The Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is €207.220 billion, as per 2015. Finland’s currency is Euro (€) since it became a member of the eurozone on January 1, 1999. The political system is a parliamentary republic.

Finland holds 13 seats in the European Parliament and held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU twice, in 1999 and 2006. Finland is a member country of the Schengen Area since March 25, 2001.