Event Calender


Luxembourg is a member country of the EU since January 1, 1958 with its geographical size of 2,586 km², and population number 562,958, as per 2015. Luxembourgers comprise 0.1% of the total EU population. Its capital is Luxembourg and the official languages in Luxembourg are French and German. The Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is €52.112 billion, as per 2015. Luxembourg’s currency is Euro (€) since it became a member of the eurozone oin January 1, 1999. The political system is a parliamentary constitutional monarchy.

Luxembourg holds 6 seats in the European Parliament and held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU 12 times between 1960 and 2015. Luxembourg is a member country of the Schengen Area since March 26, 1995.