Event Calender


Malta is a member country of the EU since May 1, 2004 with its geographical size of 315 km², and population number 429,334, as per 2015. The Maltese comprise 0.1% of the total EU population. Its capital is Valletta and the official language is Maltese. The Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is €8.796 billion, as per 2015. Malta’s currency is Euro (€) since it became a member of the eurozone on January 1, 2008. The political system is a parliamentary republic.

Malta holds 6 seats in the European Parliament and will hold the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU for the first time in 2017. Malta is a member country of the Schengen Area since December 21, 2007.